Annual Awards

The Oregon State Pharmacy Association annually honors the accomplishments of deserving pharmacy professionals. It’s that time of year again to recognize your peers who have demonstrated exceptional dedication and commitment to the pharmacy profession. If you know someone who has gone above and beyond and would like to recognize their hard work and dedication – nominate them for an award! This is a great way to say “Thank you”!  Click Here for more information on past award recipients.

The deadline for 2021 nomination forms to be returned to OSPA is July 15, 2021.  To submit your nomination, please click here.

Bowl of Hygeia

(Sponsored by APhA Foundation and NASPA)

In addition to service through their local, state, and national pharmaceutical associations, recipients of the Bowl of Hygeia Award have devoted their time, talent, and resources to a wide variety of interests. The recipient must be a pharmacist, licensed, and a member of the Association. The recipient has not been a previous recipient of the award. The recipient is not currently serving nor has he/she served within the immediate past two years as an officer of the Association in other than an ex-officio capacity. The recipient has compiled an outstanding record of community service, which, apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.

Pharmacist of the Year

(Sponsored by Oregon State Pharmacy Association)

Significant contribution to the advancement of the profession, the goals of OSPA, the reputation of Oregon pharmacy, or other readily-identifiable professional achievements. These achievements are expected to be in areas other than those directly related to employment.

Excellence in Innovation

(Sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories)

Pharmacist who has demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice for improved patient care.

Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award

(Sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual)

Graduation less than 10 yrs ago; Oregon license; OSPA membership; retail, institutional, or managed care/consulting practice; participation in national pharmacy association, professional programs, OSPA activities and/or community service.

Special Services Award

(Sponsored by Oregon State Pharmacy Association)

Outstanding contribution and commitment of time, energy, and special effort of individuals to assist Oregon State Pharmacy Association (OSPA).

Technician of the Year

(Sponsored by Oregon State Pharmacy Association)

The recipient provides patient-centered customer service skills; computer skills, input as well as judicator for insurances; is a team player as well as individual thinker, problem solver, doer; seeks cross-training opportunities; organizational skills that enhance workflow; maintains a high level of accuracy, efficiency, productivity; possesses adaptability, creativity, integrity; demonstrates professionalism with other healthcare providers (nurses, CMAs, MDs, etc.); interacts appropriately with pharmacy visitors, manufacturer’s representatives, delivery personnel, etc.; assists the pharmacist in providing pharmaceutical care beyond drug distribution (immunization clinics, bone density, BP screens, etc.); seeks CE credits to broaden pharmacy knowledge base; has achieved national certification.